Updated 4 August 2026
🇨🇾 PPL cost in Cyprus: every school compared
3 schools, 4 price points, one formula. Advertised prices in Cyprus range from €10,500 to €16,898. Add the fees every student pays and the realistic total runs from €14,228 to €21,754.
| School | Base | Aircraft | Theory first? | Checked | Advertised | Extra hour | Total at 45 h | Total at 55 h |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Griffon Aviation | Paphos (LCPH) | not stated | No | no date | €10,500? | €232.05 | €11,908 | €14,228 |
| Dento Aviation | Larnaca | Pipistrel Explorer | not stated | no date | €13,500 | €250 | €15,451 | €17,951 |
| CAFA | Larnaca (LCLK) | Aquila AT01 | Yes, all exams first | 2026-08-04 | €14,518 | €285.60 | €15,804 | €18,660 |
| CAFA | Larnaca (LCLK) | Diamond DA40 | Yes, all exams first | 2026-08-04 | €16,898 | €357 | €18,184 | €21,754 |
EUR incl. VAT. “Total at 45 h” adds every fee the student pays at the syllabus minimum. “Extra hour” is the dual rate incl. VAT. “Total at 55 h” is our realistic figure: no school in Cyprus has yet told us its students’ typical hours, so all use the same 55-hour assumption. ? = VAT assumed included, not confirmed. Latest check: 2026-08-04. Method.
What the table shows
The gap between advertised and real is €1,286–€1,951 before a single extra hour. Theory exams, the examiner, aircraft hire for the skill test, the licence itself, a medical and an English language assessment are paid by every student in Cyprus, and no school's headline price includes all of them.
Extra hours decide the ranking. Most students need more than the 45-hour minimum. Ten extra hours cost €232.05–€357 each here, so the spread between schools widens with every hour. Ask any school what share of its students finish within 45 hours; that answer is worth more than the headline price.
Course structure matters as much as price. CAFA requires all nine theory exams to be passed before the first flying lesson. That suits a full-time student who wants to finish in months, and it is a problem for anyone who wants to start flying straight away or has to travel in for each stage.
VAT is not treated the same way by every school. Dento Aviation states that no VAT applies to its prices, while the others add 19%. We show everything including VAT so the totals are on one scale, but confirm the VAT treatment with the school before you sign.
Schools in this comparison
- CAFA — Larnaca. ATO at Larnaca International Airport with fixed-price PPL(A) packages on the Aquila AT01 or Diamond DA40. All nine theory exams must be passed before the first flying lesson.
- Dento Aviation — Larnaca. Larnaca-based ATO training PPL(A) on a glass-cockpit Pipistrel Explorer, with five of the 45 hours on an FNPT II simulator. Ground school is bought first, flying is topped up as you go.
- Griffon Aviation — Paphos. PPL(A) school at Paphos International Airport. Ground school is included in the course price and flight training is paid as you go after a deposit.
Questions people ask about the PPL in Cyprus
How much does a PPL cost in Cyprus?
Schools in Cyprus advertise the PPL(A) at €10,500 to €16,898 for the 45-hour minimum. With theory exams, the examiner, aircraft hire for the skill test, licence issue, medical and an English language assessment added, the total at 45 hours is €11,908 to €18,184. At a more realistic 55 hours it is €14,228 to €21,754, depending on school and aircraft. All figures include VAT where it applies.
Which is the cheapest PPL school in Cyprus?
On the figures schools have given us, the lowest realistic total is at Griffon Aviation in Paphos (€14,228 at 55 hours). The ranking depends on how many hours you need: each extra hour costs €232.05 there against €357 at the most expensive option, so the gap grows with every hour beyond the minimum.
How long does a PPL take in Cyprus?
CAFA quotes 5–6 months (full-time) and Griffon Aviation quotes 6–18 months (about 6 months at the fastest; 12–18 months is typical). The syllabus minimum is 45 flight hours; at three or four lessons a week that is a few months, and at one lesson a week it stretches past a year. CAFA requires all nine theory exams to be passed before the first flying lesson, which front-loads the course but removes the risk of flying hours going stale while theory drags on.
Can I do the PPL in English in Cyprus?
Yes. Every school listed here trains in English, and radio communication at the training airports is in English. An English language proficiency assessment is part of the licence process and is listed as a separate fee on each school page.
Where are the flight schools in Cyprus?
Larnaca and Paphos (Paphos International Airport, LCPH). Training airports here are controlled fields shared with commercial traffic, so radio work and ATC procedures are part of training from the first lesson. At Griffon Aviation an airport security pass is required, including for a trial flight: send ID in advance and allow several days for approval.
Is a PPL from Cyprus valid in the rest of Europe?
Schools listed here are approved under EASA rules by the national authority (EASA-CY), so the licence is an EASA Part-FCL PPL(A) and is recognised in every EASA member state without conversion. The United Kingdom left the EASA system in 2021 and has its own process for validating or converting EASA licences.
What does the advertised price not include?
Typically the theory exams, the examiner and aircraft for the skill test, the licence issue fee, the medical, the English language assessment, a headset and any hours beyond the 45-hour minimum. Each school page lists these line by line, and the guide to what a PPL really costs explains each item.