Updated 4 August 2026
CAFA
Cyprus Aviation Flight Academy. ATO, EASA-CY. Larnaca International Airport (Apron 2) (LCLK).
Figures stated by CAFA by email, 4 August 2026. Not yet confirmed by the school
PPL cost at CAFA
All figures in EUR including VAT at 19%.
On the Aquila AT01
| Item (Aquila AT01) | EUR incl. VAT |
|---|---|
| Course price, 45 h | €14,518 |
| Theory courseIncluded in the course price | — |
| Materials and equipment | not stated |
| Computer-based training | not stated |
| Theory exams (authority)9 DCA exams at €17.09 each | €154 |
| Skill test examinerreference figureTypical Cyprus figure; the school has not stated its own | €200 |
| Aircraft hire for skill testreference figureTypical Cyprus figure for aircraft hire on the skill test; the school has not stated its own | €375 |
| Licence issue (authority)reference figureDCA fee schedule; not stated by the school | €226 |
| English language proficiencyreference figureTypical Cyprus figure; CAFA runs the assessment in-house but has not stated the fee | €192 |
| Class 2 medicalreference figureTypical Class 2 medical cost in Cyprus; not stated by the school | €140 |
| Landing fees | not stated |
| Airport security pass | not stated |
| Total at the 45-hour minimum | €15,804 |
| 10 extra hours × €285.60We assume 55 hours to licence until the school gives its own typical figure. | €2,856 |
| Realistic total at 55 hours | €18,660 |
Not stated by the school and therefore not in the total: materials and equipment, computer-based training, landing fees, airport security pass. The real total may be higher.
Items marked “reference figure” (€1,133 in total) are typical local costs we use where the school did not state its own. See how we calculate.
- Course price includes
- Bristol Ground School CBT and materials; Theory classes; CRP-1/5 flight computer, ruler, protractor, logbook, kneeboard; Uniform (shirt and tie); 45 hours of flight training on the Aquila AT01
- Not included
- Headset; Medical; Theory exam enrolment; English language assessment; Skill test (examiner and aircraft); Licence issue; Accommodation
- Worth knowing
- All theory exams must be passed before any flying. 24-month limit from the exams to the skill test. Skill test examiner and aircraft are on top of the package. No headset included.
On the Diamond DA40
| Item (Diamond DA40) | EUR incl. VAT |
|---|---|
| Course price, 45 h | €16,898 |
| Theory courseIncluded in the course price | — |
| Materials and equipment | not stated |
| Computer-based training | not stated |
| Theory exams (authority)9 DCA exams at €17.09 each | €154 |
| Skill test examinerreference figureTypical Cyprus figure; the school has not stated its own | €200 |
| Aircraft hire for skill testreference figureTypical Cyprus figure for aircraft hire on the skill test; the school has not stated its own | €375 |
| Licence issue (authority)reference figureDCA fee schedule; not stated by the school | €226 |
| English language proficiencyreference figureTypical Cyprus figure; CAFA runs the assessment in-house but has not stated the fee | €192 |
| Class 2 medicalreference figureTypical Class 2 medical cost in Cyprus; not stated by the school | €140 |
| Landing fees | not stated |
| Airport security pass | not stated |
| Total at the 45-hour minimum | €18,184 |
| 10 extra hours × €357We assume 55 hours to licence until the school gives its own typical figure. | €3,570 |
| Realistic total at 55 hours | €21,754 |
Not stated by the school and therefore not in the total: materials and equipment, computer-based training, landing fees, airport security pass. The real total may be higher.
Items marked “reference figure” (€1,133 in total) are typical local costs we use where the school did not state its own. See how we calculate.
- Course price includes
- Bristol Ground School CBT and materials; Theory classes; CRP-1/5 flight computer, ruler, protractor, logbook, kneeboard; Uniform (shirt and tie); 45 hours of flight training on the Diamond DA40
- Not included
- Headset; Medical; Theory exam enrolment; English language assessment; Skill test (examiner and aircraft); Licence issue; Accommodation
- Worth knowing
- All theory exams must be passed before any flying. 24-month limit from the exams to the skill test. Skill test examiner and aircraft are on top of the package. No headset included.
The course
- Minimum hours
- 45 h
- Typical hours to licence
- Not stated by the school; we assume 55 h
- Typical duration
- 5–6 months (full-time)
- Intensive option
- Yes
- Theory
- Blended (online + classroom), about 85 h. Included in the course price. Bristol Ground School CBT (minimum 45 hours remote) followed by a mandatory 2-week in-house block, Monday to Friday mornings (about 40 hours of classroom time and mock exams, 75% pass mark), then the DCA exams. Flight training starts only after all exams are passed.
- Theory before flying?
- Yes. All theory exams must be passed before the first flying lesson.
- Start dates
- Rolling, start any time · waiting list none (school states there is no waiting list after theory; an instructor is allocated immediately)
- Time limit
- 24 months (24 months from passing the theory exams to complete the skill test)
- Medical
- School helps arrange the Class 2 medical (refers students to the cyprus aeromedical centre)
- English language test
- Assessed in-house
Paying
- Model
- Fixed instalments. Instalment amounts shown are for the Aquila AT01 package
- Deposit
- €2,000
- Financing
- Not stated
| Instalment | Amount | Due |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | €2,000 | On or before registration |
| First payment | €4,518 | 1 week before the course starts |
| Second payment | €4,000 | Before flight training (covers hours 0–15) |
| Third payment | €4,000 | Before hour 15 (covers hours 15–30) |
| Total | €14,518 |
Trial flight
- Price
- Offered; price not stated
- Counts towards the licence
- Not stated
Fleet and rates
| Type | Count | Cockpit | Dual / h | Solo / h |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aquila AT01 | — | — | €285.60 | — |
| Diamond DA40 | — | — | €357 | — |
Hourly rates shown including VAT.
Base and access
- Airfield
- Larnaca International Airport (Apron 2) (LCLK)
- Airspace
- Controlled (ATC)
- Runway
- paved
About CAFA
CAFA, the Cyprus Aviation Flight Academy, is an EASA-approved training organisation operating from Apron 2 at Larnaca International Airport, a controlled commercial field on the south-east coast of the island.
The school sells the PPL(A) as a fixed-price package that includes VAT at 19%. There are two versions depending on the aircraft: the two-seat Aquila AT01 or the four-seat Diamond DA40, with the DA40 package about €2,400 dearer and the extra hours correspondingly more expensive. Both packages cover the minimum 45 hours of flying, the full theory course, course materials such as the CRP-1/5 flight computer, ruler, protractor, logbook and kneeboard, and a uniform shirt and tie. A headset is not included.
The sequence of the course is CAFA's most distinctive feature. Theory comes first and must be finished before any flying: students work through the Bristol Ground School computer-based course remotely for at least 45 hours, then attend a mandatory two-week block at the academy, Monday to Friday mornings, with about 40 hours of classroom time and mock exams that require a 75% pass. Only after the nine DCA exams are passed does flight training begin. The school says there is no waiting list at that point and an instructor is allocated straight away. Students then have 24 months from passing the theory exams to complete the skill test. Full-time students are quoted five to six months for the whole course.
Payment is in four instalments: a €2,000 registration fee, a first payment a week before the course starts, and two further payments before the flying phase that cover hours 0–15 and 15–30 respectively. The instalment amounts quoted apply to the Aquila package.
Not included in the package, and paid separately by the student, are the medical (CAFA refers students to the Cyprus Aeromedical Centre), enrolment for the theory exams, the English language proficiency assessment which the academy runs in-house, the skill test examiner and aircraft, the DCA licence issue fees and accommodation. A trial flight is offered, but the price has not yet been confirmed to us, and neither have fleet sizes or the typical number of hours students need.
Contact
- Website
- cafa.aero
- Phone
- +357 24 643330
- info@cafa.aero
- Languages
- English
Run CAFA? If any figure here is out of date, email hello@pilotsradar.com and we will correct it the same day. Confirmed listings carry a “confirmed by the school” mark.
Other PPL schools in Cyprus
Dento Aviation
Larnaca-based ATO training PPL(A) on a glass-cockpit Pipistrel Explorer, with five of the 45 hours on an FNPT II simulator. Ground school is bought first, flying is topped up as you go.
Advertised €13,500, realistic total €17,951 at 55 h
Griffon Aviation
PPL(A) school at Paphos International Airport. Ground school is included in the course price and flight training is paid as you go after a deposit.
Advertised €10,500, realistic total €14,228 at 55 h
Compare all PPL schools in Cyprus side by side → · What a PPL really costs